History of Classical Music

Atonal Music

(20th Century 5)
One composer, Arnold Schoenberg, devised a completely new system of composing by using the 12 tone scale. The resulting music is called atonal. The scale uses all 12 chromatic notes equally. Rhythms are irregular and unpredictable.

Joined by Alban Berg and Anton Webern, the three formed the Second Viennese School. Both Berg and Webern followed Schoenberg in abandoning traditional tonality and melody, and in writing concentrated short pieces.

Alban Berg and Anton Webern
Previous (Chance Music) Overview of 20th Century

Sample Works:

MIDI Example 1st mvmt, Symphony (Op.21) by A. Webern


1st mvmt, Symphony (Op.21), MIDI sequence by Jorge Franganillo
    from Classical MIDI Connection

Home | Main Menu | Composers | Glossary
Classical History | Jazz History | Musical Instruments | For Teachers
Related Sites | Web Rings | About this Site

Comments? Suggestions?
Email: tbrehaut@hotmail.com